1. home
  2. > cricket
  3. > Knight Riders in search for their 3rd IPL title
replay trump newslist
up NEXT IN 5 SECONDS sports newslist
tap to unmute

Knight Riders in search for their 3rd IPL title

Sep 19, 2020 19:53 IST

Kolkata Knight Riders - A team that has probably seen the most drama, maximum highs and many lows. Showcasing the ruthless style of cricket in the very first game of the inaugural edition, the franchise is often credited for making IPL the brand that it is today. But just after their first 2 games, things went downhill for KKR. After they failed to qualify for the playoffs in the first 3 editions, the team had a complete makeover. The captaincy duties shifted from Sourav Ganguly to Gautam Gambhir. The Delhi lad led from the front and KKR qualified for their first-ever playoffs that year. 2012 was the year which saw the Knights reign supreme as they lifted their maiden silverware. Since 2014 KKR has failed to win another title despite making it to the playoffs in 3 of the last 4 editions. The franchise has made significant additions this year. Roping in England's 2019 World Cup-winning captain Eoin Morgan may prove to be a masterstroke. His inputs to current captain Dinesh Karthik will prove valuable. Hard-hitting batsman Tom Banton is also expected to give their shaky opening slot the much-needed stability. They also have youngsters like Shubman Gill and Nitish Rana in the ranks. Kolkata also boasts a formidable bowling unit comprising of Pat Cummins, Kuldeep Yadav and Sunil Narine. Moreover, if Andre Russell continues to do what he does best, there could be no stopping the Knights this time around.